Bangladesh win toss and bat against India

Published: Saturday, June 28, 2008, 15:50 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bangladesh captain Mohammad Ashraful won the toss and elected to bat in the Super League Asia Cup match against India at the National Stadium here on Saturday.

India, who won both their matches in the first round, rested fast bowler Praveen Kumar, leg-spinner Piyush Chawla and opener Virendar Sehwag and brought in Robin Uthappa, Manpreet Gony and Pragyan Ojha.

The 21-year old Ojha, a left-arm spinner, is making his one-day debut.

Bangladesh, who lost to Sri Lanka but won against the United Arab Emirates in round one, brought in allrounder Farhad Reza in place of Dolar Mahmud as the only change from the line-up of their last match.

India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Gautam Gambhir, Robin Uthappa, Yuvraj Singh, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Yusuf Pathan, Pragyan Ojha, Manpreet Gony, Rudra Pratap Singh, Ishant Sharma

Bangladesh: Mohammad Ashraful (captain), Mashrafe Mortaza, Nazimuddin, Mahmudullah Riyad, Tamim Iqbal, Abdur Razzak, Farhad Reza, Raqibul Hasan, Shahadat Hossain, Mushfiqur Rahim, Alok Kapali

Umpires: Simon Taufel (AUS), Brian Jerling (RSA)

Tv umpire: Gamini Silva (SRI)

Match referee: Alan Hurst (AUS)

Read more about: bangladesh, toss, bat
Write Comments