TNCA polls: Muthiah~~s come back bid failed

Published: Monday, June 30, 2008, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Chennai: Former Cricket Board and Tamil Nadu Cricket Association (TNCA) President A C Muthiah failed in his bid to make a comeback at the helm of TNCA affairs today.

In the elections conducted for the annual General Body Meeting (AGM) at the TNCA premises here, Muthiah's bid to dislodge the incumbent President of the Association and BCCI Treasurer N Srinivasan failed as the latter defeated him convincingly by 134-55 votes.

Muthiah, it may be recalled, had completed the maximum six term tenure as President of TNCA as per its Constitution in 2002.

Srinivasan had then succeeded him and is holding the reins of power in the Association, which is one of the best managed state associations in the country.

Srinivasan's team clean swept the other key posts in the TNCA. Secretary Kasi Viswanathan defeated Shanti Kumbhat 142-49 and incumbent Jt Secretary G Natarajan overwhelmed his rival K L Balaji, another member of Muthiah's camp, by 120-71 votes.

The other office bearers elected were: S Ganeshan : Hon Treasurer; U Prabhakar Rao, K V Aiyappan, C R Vijayaraghavan and Dr D N Seshagiri: all Vice-Presidents.

Vice-Presidents(Districts): N R Manivannan and K G Muralidharan (elected unanimously).


Write Comments