Lanka opt to bat against India

Published: Thursday, July 3, 2008, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Karachi: Sri Lanka skipper Mahela Jayawardene won the toss and decided to bat in the Asia Cup Super League tie against India at the National Stadium here on Thursday.

India made two changes to their line-up which suffered a comprehensive eight wicket defeat against Pak. Left-arm seamer RP and left-arm spinner Pragyan Ojha replace Yusuf and Piyush Chawla. Lanka who are already thro' to final, rested their ace bowlers Vaas and Ajantha Mendis. Fernando and Weeraratne brought in.

A win here would see India in final. If India lose today and Pak win their last Super League tie against Bangla then the hosts will go thro' to the final on the basis of most wins in the Super League despite the fact that both the teams are tied on points.


India: Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt&wk), Rohit Sharma, Irfan Pathan, Pragyan Ojha, Praveen Kumar, RP Singh and Ishant Sharma.

Sri Lanka: Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Sanath Jayasuriya, Mahela Jayawardene (capt), Chamara Kapugedera, Chamara Silva, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kaushalya Weeraratne, Thilan Thushara, Nuwan Kulasekara, Muttiah Muralitharan and Dilhara Fernando.

Match Officials: Umpire: Brian Jerling and Simon Taufel. Third Umpire: Zameen Haider. Referee: Allan Hurst.


Write Comments