SA elect to bowl in first Test against England

Published: Thursday, July 10, 2008, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

SA include left-arm spinner Harris at the expense of seamer Andre NelLondon: South Africa skipper Graeme Smith won the toss and elected to field in the first of four-Test series against England at the Lord's here on Thursday.

The visitors are going with three-pronged pace attack with the fiery triumvirate of Steyn, Ntini and Morne Morkel making it to line-up. Nel sits out giving way for left-arm spinner Paul Harris.

England remain unchanged for the record sixth time on trot. Flintoff is expected to make much awaited comeback for the second Test at Leed's.

It is interesting to see how English batsmen negotiate the fiery Steyn on a sporting wicket.

Conditions at Lord's perfect for Test match: The weather is bright and sunny and pitch looked hard with a tinge of grass.


England: Andrew Strauss, Alastair Cook, Michael Vaughan (capt), Kevin Pietersen, Ian Bell, Paul Collingwod, Tim Ambrose (wk), Stuart Broad, Ryan Sidebottom, Monty Panesar and James Anderson.

South Africa: Graeme Smith (capt), Neil McKenzie, Hashim Amla, Jacques Kallis, Ashwell Prince, AB de Villiers, Mark Boucher (wk), Paul Harris, Morne Morkel, Makhaya Ntini and Dale Steyn.

Match Officials: Umpires: Daryl Harper (Aus) and Billy Bowden (NZ). Third umpire: Tim Robinson. Match Referee: Jeff Crowe.


Write Comments