Australia-A squad for India tour announced

Published: Thursday, August 21, 2008, 13:29 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

NSW skipper Simon Katich to lead Australia-A squad bound India for short tour. Melbourne: Cricket Australia's national selectors today announced a 14-member Australia-A squad bound India for three-day ties starting from Sept 3-26.

NSW skipper Simon Katich will lead the side while Adam Voges has been named his deputy.

"With an eye for the future Australia have also picked several of our best emerging batting talent. Philip Hughes was selected following an outstanding debut season for NSW and a great performance in the Pura Cup final. George Bailey richly deserves his opportunity at this level and Forrest (NSW) who has had an outstanding emerging players" tournament that concluded recently.

These young batsmen are all players the selection panel considers has the potential to play for Australia in the future," Chairman of National Selection Panel (NSP) Andrew Hilditch said.

"Following the completion of the two three-day-games at the start of this A tour of India a review will take place and some players will return to Australia," Hilditch said.

"Further players will be added to the Australia-A tour for the one-day matches in the short-term future."

"Australia's team for the India Test series will be selected following the completion of the two three-day-games for Australia-A in India."

The squad:

Simon Katich (capt, NSW), Adam Voges (vice-capt, WC), George Bailey (Tas), Doug Bollinger (NSW), Beau Casson (NSW), Peter Forrest (NSW), Ryan Harris (Qld), Phillip Hughes (NSW), Jason Krejza (Tas), Bryce McGain (Vic), Marcus North (WA), Ashley Noffke (Qld), Luke Ronchi (WA) and Peter Siddle (Vic). Coach: Simon Helmot.


Write Comments