Jayawardene chooses to bat in dead rubber

Published: Friday, August 29, 2008, 14:18 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Colombo: Lankan skipper Mahela Jayawardene won the toss and elected to bat in the fifth and final ODI against India at the Premadasa Stadium here on Friday.

India, having clinched the five-match series, have rung in changes in the playing XI. RP gets his first match of the series. Left-arm spinner Pragyan Ojha and Irfan return to the fold. Praveen, Badri and Harbhajan were rested.

Lankans, too, have made three changes to the squad fielded in previous tie. Murali, Vaas and Dilshan make way for Mubarak, Fernando and Udawatte.

India look to continue the winning momentum it has gained, so that it can carry this forward to the upcoming home series against Aussies.

On the othet hand Lankans aim to win this tie and salvage some pride.


India: Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt&wk), Rohit Sharma, Irfan Pathan, RP Singh, Pragyan Ojha, Zaheer Khan and Munaf Patel.

Lanka: Sanath Jayasuriya, Malinda Warnapura, Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Mahela Jayawardene (capt), Chamara Kapugedera, Mahela Udawatte, Jehan Mubarak, Nuwan Kulasekara, Thilan Thushara, Ajantha Mendis and Dilhara Fernando.

Match Officials: Umpires: Billy Doctrove (WI) and Tyron Wijewardene (SL). Third umpire: MG Silva (SL). Match referee: Chris Broad (Eng).


Write Comments