Bangladesh win toss, bat against Australia

Published: Wednesday, September 3, 2008, 5:49 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Darwin: Bangladesh won the toss and decided to bat in the first one-day international against Australia at TIO Stadium here Wednesday.

Despite the distraction of Andrew Symonds being sent home for a disciplinary breach, the home side won the first match on Saturday by 180 runs, with Bangladesh routed for just 74.

Australia recalled all-rounder Shane Watson, who has recovered from calf soreness, at the expense of seamer Brett Geeves, who debuted on Saturday.

A finger injury to Raqibal Hasan forced him out of the Bangladesh team and he was replaced by batsman Junaid Siddique.


Australia: Michael Clarke (C), Michael Hussey, Brad Haddin, Shaun Marsh, David Hussey, James Hopes, Cameron White, Shane Watson, Mitchell Johnson, Stuart Clark, Nathan Bracken.

Bangladesh: Mohammad Ashraful (C), Mashrafe Mortaza, Tamim Iqbal, Junaid Siddique, Shakib Al Hasan, Alok Kapali, Dhiman Ghosh, Abdur Razzak, Shahadat Hossain, Mehrab Hossain, Nazmul Hossain.

Umpires: Bruce Oxenford (AUS), Amiesh Saheba (IND)

TV Replays: Rod Tucker (AUS) Reserve: Peter Parker (AUS)

Match referee: Javagal Srinath (IND)

Write Comments