Rest of India wins toss, elects to bat

Published: Wednesday, September 24, 2008, 11:29 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Vadodra: Rest of India captain Anil Kumble won the toss and elected to bat first in the Irani cup tie against Ranji Trophy champions Delhi at the Reliance Stadium here on Wednesday.

The Irani Trophy match will be the only warm-up game before the first Test against Australia which starts on Oct 9. The contest gains huge importance despite the absence of India's two most followed cricketers of this era – Sachin Tendulkar and Sourav Ganguly. With at least two national selectors expected at the venue, all the players would be keen to impress them.


Rest of India (Playing XI): Rahul Dravid, Wasim Jaffer, Mohammad Kaif, Subramaniam Badrinath, VVS Laxman, Mahendra Singh Dhoni(w), Anil Kumble(c), Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Munaf Patel, Rudra Pratap Singh.

Delhi (Playing XI): Gautam Gambhir, Akash Chopra, Virender Sehwag(c), Mithun Manhas, Virat Kohli, Rajat Bhatia, Puneet Bisht(w), Chetanya Nanda, Pradeep Sangwan, Ashish Nehra, Ishant Sharma


Write Comments