Australia bat first against India

Published: Thursday, October 9, 2008, 10:33 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Australian captain Ricky Ponting won the toss and elected to bat in the first Test against India at the Chinnaswamy stadium here on Thursday.

The tourists left out off-spinner Jason Krejza from the 12 announced on Wednesday to give Victorian leg-spinner Cameron White his Test debut.

India go in with two seamers in Zaheer Khan and Ishant Sharma and two spinners in skipper Anil Kumble and Harbhajan Singh on a wicket that appears good for batting.

Australia: Ricky Ponting (capt), Matthew Hayden, Simon Katich, Michael Hussey, Michael Clarke, Shane Watson, Brad Haddin, Cameron White, Brett Lee, Mitchell Johnson, Stuart Clark. 12th man: Jason Krejza.

India: Anil Kumble (capt), Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, Venkatsai Laxman, Mahendra Dhoni, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ishant Sharma. 12th man: Subramaniam Badrinath.

Umpires: Rudi Koertzen (RSA) and Asad Rauf (PAK)

Third umpire: Amish Saheba (IND)

Match referee: Chris Broad (ENG)

Read more about: australia, bat
Write Comments