Bangladesh win toss and put New Zealand in to bat

Published: Thursday, October 9, 2008, 10:37 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bangladesh captain Mohammad Ashraful won the toss and sent New Zealand into bat in the first one-day international at Shere Bangla National Stadium here on Thursday.

The home team gave a one-day debut to off-spinning all-rounder Naeem Islam and left out paceman Mahbubul Alam from their squad of 12.

New Zealand, targeting a clean sweep in the three-match series to regain second spot in the international one-day rankings, left out off-spinner Jeetan Patel.

The second match is in Dhaka on Saturday and the third in Chittagong on Tuesday.

Bangladesh: Mohammad Ashraful (capt), Tamim Iqbal, Zunaed Siddique, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mashrafe Mortaza, Abdur Razzak, Shahadat Hossain, Syed Rasel, Mahmud Ullah Riyad, Naeem Islam

New Zealand: Daniel Vettori (captain), Daniel Flynn, Jamie How, Brendon McCullum, Kyle Mills, Jacob Oram, Jesse Ryder, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Scott Styris, Mark Gillespie

Umpires: Daryl Harper (AUS) and Nadir Shah (BAN)

TV umpire: Akhtaruddin

Match referee: Javagal Srinath (IND)

Read more about: bangladesh, toss, zealand, bat
Write Comments