Bangladesh win toss, put New Zealand in to bat

Published: Saturday, October 11, 2008, 10:50 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail


A whirlwind innings of 75 off 62 balls from allrounder Jacob Oram has given New Zealand a fighting chance of saving the second game in their three-match one-day cricket series against Bangladesh.

The Black Caps looked in real danger of losing their first one-day series to Bangladesh before Oram bolstered their innings to 212 for nine in Dhaka today.

Bangladesh, who won the first of a three-match series by seven wickets, won the toss and sent New Zealand in to bat again.

New Zealand entered familiar territory in trying to post a competitive total when they found themselves 72-4 after 25 overs.

Bowler Syed Rasel was New Zealand's chief tormentor today on a pitch offering uneven bounce as he snapped up the wickets of Jesse Ryder (30), Brendon McCullum (12) and Jamie How (0), finishing with the impressive figures of 3-23 off 10 overs.

Shakib Al Hasan picked up the wickets of Ross Taylor and Kyle Mills to finish with 2-19 off nine overs.

Dhaka: Bangladesh captain Mohammad Ashraful won the toss and sent New Zealand in to bat in the second one-day international at Shere Bangla National Stadium here on Saturday.

The home team stunned New Zealand in the first match here on Thursday, winning by seven wickets to go 1-0 up in the three-match series.

Bangladesh have kept the same side which won the team's first-ever match against New Zealand, while the visitors have brought in off-spinner Jeetan Patel for paceman Mark Gillespie.

The third and final match is in Chittagong on Tuesday.


Bangladesh: Mohammad Ashraful (capt), Tamim Iqbal, Zunaed Siddique, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mashrafe Mortaza, Abdur Razzak, Shahadat Hossain, Syed Rasel, Mahmud Ullah Riyad, Naeem Islam

New Zealand: Daniel Vettori (captain), Daniel Flynn, Jamie How, Brendon McCullum, Kyle Mills, Jacob Oram, Jesse Ryder, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Scott Styris, Jeetan Patel

Umpires: Daryl Harper (AUS) and Nadir Shah (BAN)

TV umpire: Akhtaruddin

Match referee: Javagal Srinath (IND)

Write Comments