Kumble out as India elect to bat

Published: Friday, October 17, 2008, 9:34 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

New Delhi: India won the toss and decided to bat first against Australia after winning the toss in the second Test of the four-match Test series in Mohali on Friday.

MS Dhoni will be leading the Indian side after Anil Kumble ruled out of the side due to an elbow injury and leggie Amit Mishra replaces him in the final eleven.

First test against Australia at Bangalore ended in a draw. Australia had the edge in Bangalore while the brownie points belonged to India. Sachin Tendulkar is just 15 runs short from Brian Lara to become the highest Test runs scorer.

Drizzles over the last few days have left much moisture in the track which would put testing condition for the batsmen.

The teams:

India: Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, VVS Laxman, Saurav Ganguly, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Harbhajan Singh, Amit Mishra, Zaheer Khan, Ishant Sharma.

Australia: Matthew Hayden, Simon Katich, Ricky Ponting, Mike Hussey, Michael Clarke, Brad Haddin, Shane Watson, Cameron White, Brett Lee, Mitchell Johnson, Peter Siddle.


Write Comments