Bengal Tigers tame Dhaka Warriors

Published: Sunday, October 26, 2008, 12:01 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Delhi: The 18th match of the ICL 20s Indian Championship featured the big "Trans Bangla battle", with the formidable Royal Bengal Tigers taking on the dangerous Dhaka Warriors from Bangladesh. The high octane encounter that had a lot of history, passion and rivalry at stake saw the Tigers from West Bengal put it across their neighbors from Dhaka by 8 wickets. Deep Dasgupta won the Man of the Match award for his sparkling unbeaten knock of 80.

Earlier in the evening, Craig McMillan won the toss and elected to field. The Royal Bengal Tigers opened with the experienced Klusener for the first time in the tournament and it delivered results immediately, with the wicket of Nazimuddin, getting only 2runs against his name. The busy Aftab Ahmed, after a coupe of streaky strokes got into the repair act for the Dhaka warriors, scoring 14 runs off the 4th over from Abu Nechim; taking the score to 33/1 at the end of the 4th over. Ahmed&Nafees were working up a strong partnership for the second wicket taking the Dhaka Warriors score to 64/1 at the 8th over mark. A big six over midwicket off Chandana brought about Aftab Ahmed's fifty, coming off only 30 balls; including 5 fours and 3 mighty sixes.

The 75 run partnership for the second wicket was struck down by Eklak Ahmid scalping Nafees in the 10th over. At the half way mark of their innings, the Dhaka side was well placed at 84/2; setting up a strong platform. Ahmid was displaying a disciplined performance of controlled seam bowling picking up his second scalp of the match with the big wicket of Aftab Ahmed in the 14th over for a well made 61 off 41 balls; studded with 6 fours and 3 sixes.

The 15th over mark had the Dhaka Warriors al set for the final onslaught placed at 123/3 and ICL's lone centurion Alok Kapali looking good at the center. Eklak Ahmid, at the opposing end however had other ideas picking up his third wicket of the match castling Karim with the first ball of the 16th over. Eklak was the pick of the bowlers for the Royal Bengal Tigers, ending his spell with impressive figures of 3/20 in 4 overs. Kapali on the other end was giving pull proof of why he is rated as one of the MVP (most valuable players) at the ICL, brining his fifty off 27 balls in the 17th over. Kapali was looking in dangerous mood looking to create some serious damage, till Klusener picked up his prized wicket in the penultimate over for a brilliant innings of 65. Kapali's knock came off only 33 balls and included 4 fours and 5 sixes. The Dhaka Warriors finally folded their innings a competitive 173/7 in their allotted 20 overs.

The Royal Bengal Tigers opened their challenging chase with solid purpose with Marshall&Dasgupta, scoring 22 runs in the first two overs. Bashar introduced both his left arm spinners Rafique&Mosharraf in the first five overs to pull back the Royal Bengal Tigers. The 41 run partnership was finally broken by Mosharraf castling the dangerous Marshall in the 5th over. The 5 over mark had both sides placed "Even-Stevens", with the Royal Bengal Tigers scorecard reading 44/1.

Bashar was relying on his spinners introducing his third spinner in Kapali in the first 10 overs to counter the Royal Bengal Tigers chase. The half way mark of their innings had the Tigers from West- Bengal staying right on target at 86/1; needing another 87 runs off 60 balls&the "Gavaskar- Dasgupta" partnership displaying some clinical batting. Dasgupta brought his brilliant fifty in the 12th over off 37 balls. The pedigreed Gavaskar was marveling a packed Gurgaon crowd to some brilliant strokes bringing his well deserved fifty off only 32 deliveries in the 17th over. The wonderful partnership of 109 runs between the two experienced Indian internationals came to an end in the 18th over when the experienced Rafique, trapped Gavaskar for a well made 51 including 2 fours&3 sixes. In the end it was a clinical batting performance from the Royal Bengal Tigers stable that saw them romp home to an 8 wicket victory.

Brief Scores: Dhaka Warriors 173/7 in 20 over (Alok Kapali 65, Aftab Ahmed 61, Eklak Ahmid 3/20) lost by 8 wickets Royal Bengal Tigers 175/2 in 18.4 overs( Deep Dasgupta 80* , Rohan Gavaskar 51, Mosharraf 1/32).



Write Comments