Bangladesh win toss and bowl in SA Twenty20

Published: Wednesday, November 5, 2008, 22:23 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bangladesh won the toss and sent South Africa in to bat in a Twenty20 international at the Wanderers Stadium here on Wednesday.

It is the opening match of a tour by Bangladesh which includes three one-day internationals and two Test matches.

Fast bowler Dale Steyn returned to the South African team after recovering from an illness which kept him out of action since the tour of England which ended in September.

Rory Kleinveldt, an all-rounder from the Cape Cobras franchise, made his international debut for South Africa.

There had been rain showers earlier in the day and there was a possibility of evening thundershowers.


South Africa: Johan Botha (captain), Herschelle Gibbs, Loots Bosman, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Justin Ontong, Albie Morkel, Rory Kleinveldt, Morne Morkel, Johann Louw, Dale Steyn.

Bangladesh: Mohammad Ashraful (captain), Tamim Iqbal, Junaid Siddique, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Mehrab Hossain jnr, Naeem Islam, Raqibul Hasan, Abdur Razzak, Shahadat Hossain, Syed Rasel.

Umpires: Brian Jerling, Marais Erasmus (both RSA). TV umpire: Ian Howell (RSA). Match referee: Roshan Mahanama (SRI).

Read more about: bangladesh, toss, bowl, sa, twenty20
Write Comments