Rajkot ODI: England wins toss, elects to bowl

Published: Friday, November 14, 2008, 9:30 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Rajkot: England captain Kevin Pietersen won the toss and elected to bowl first in the first limited-overs international Friday.

England announced their playing XI yesterday; Stuart Broad is back in the XI after clearing a fitness test on the eve of the match, and the visitors have chosen Ravi Bopara ahead of Luke Wright, who was part of England's last one-day international.

In Indian side Gautam Gambhir is back after serving his one-Test ban, while Ishant Sharma will be missing owing to his ankle injury.

India have decided to go in with three seamers - in Zaheer Khan, Munaf Patel and RP Singh, and one spinner in Harbhajan Singh.

India: Mahendra Dhoni (captain), Virendra Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Rohit Sharma, Yusuf Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Rudra Pratap Singh and Munaf Patel.

England: Kevin Pietersen (captain), Ian Bell, Matt Prior, Owais Shah, Paul Collingwood, Ravi Bopara, Andrew Flintoff, Samit Patel, Stuart Broad, Steve Harmison and James Anderson.
Umpires: Russell Tiffin, Zimbabwe, and Suresh Shastri, India.

TV umpire: Amish Saheba, India. Match referee: Roshan Mahanama, Sri Lanka.


Write Comments