Pakistan win toss and bat in second one-dayer

Published: Friday, November 14, 2008, 16:27 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Pakistan captain Shoaib Malik won the toss and decided to bat in the second one-day international against the West Indies at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium here on Friday.

Pakistan made two changes to the line-up that won the first match by four wickets on Wednesday, bringing in paceman Rao Iftikhar and off-spinner Saeed Ajmal for Abdur Rauf and Fawad Alam.

Fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar failed to pass a fitness test on Friday as he had not fully recovered from the calf injury that sidelined him for the first match.

West Indies brought in fast bowler Shawn Findlay in place of Brendan Nash as their only change.

The final match will be played on Sunday.

Pakistan: Shoaib Malik (capt), Salman Butt, Khurrum Manzoor, Younus Khan, Misbahul Haq, Shahid Afridi, Kamran Akmal, Umer Gul, Sohail Tanveer, Rao Iftikhar, Saeed Ajmal

West Indies: Chris Gayle (capt), Xavier Marshall, Sewnarine Chattergoon, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Lionel Baker, Carlton Baugh, Shawn Findlay, Nikita Miller, Daren Powell, Jerome Taylor

Umpires: Steve Davis (AUS), Daryl Harper (AUS)

Tv umpire: Mark Benson (ENG)

ICC match referee: Mike Procter (RSA)

Read more about: pakistan, toss, bat, one dayer
Write Comments