Dhoni sends England into bat at Cuttack

Published: Wednesday, November 26, 2008, 14:19 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Cuttack: Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni wins toss and elects to field against England in 5th ODI at Cuttack. With the series already in their pocket, India will now aim for a 7-0 whitewash with the intention of giving some of the bench players the chance to prove their worth.

For India, Irfan Pathan comes in for Munaf Patel and Gautam Gambhir has been replaced by Rohit Sharma.

England too have made two changes, Alistair Cook replaces Ian Bell, and Steve Harmison comes in for James Anderson.

The pitch has more grass than the ones used in the previous One-dayers of this series and indications are it could be a bit two-paced as well.

Yuvraj Singh needs 113 runs to complete 1000 runs in the calendar year.

England have played 4 matches at the stadium out of which they have won 3 and lost 1.

The hosts have taken an unassailable 4-0 lead but are not likely to show any mercy on the visitors.

England will play to salvage some pride, trying to start it afresh while for India it will be time for some experiments as they plan to give an opportunity to the reserve players, who have not played a single match yet.

Their current bashing is a reminder of England's last series in India two years ago when the seven-match series was won by India with a 5-1 margin after Guwahati One-dayer was abandoned without a ball being bowled.


India: Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Captain), Yuvraj Singh, Yusuf Pathan, Irfan Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ishant Sharma.

England: Alistair Cook, Ravinder Bopara, Owais Shah, Kevin Pietersen (Captain), Andrew Flintoff, Paul Collingwood, Matt Prior, Samit Patel, Stuart Broad, Graeme Swann, Steve Harmison.


Write Comments