Indian test squad to be announced Thursday

Published: Thursday, December 4, 2008, 9:34 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

SrikanthChennai: Indian Test squad for the rescheduled Test series would be announced at Chennai today.

Team India captain M S Dhoni, Selection Committee Chairman Krishnamachari Srikanth and his team would be in the city to select the team.

The meeting would be held at the Tamil Nadu Cricket Association (TNCA) premises at 1500 hrs in which BCCI Secretary N Srinivasan would also participate.

As per the changed fixtures, England, who had returned home after abandoning the last two ODIs in the seven match series in the wake of the terrorirst attacks in Mumbai, the first was shifted to in henal to be played from December 11 and the second at Mohali from December 19.

England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) Security Manager Reg Dickason who visited Chennai today and later left for Mohali, will submit his report to the ECB, based on which a final decision would be taken on England team's return for the Test series.

Selection committee chairman Krishmamachari Srikanth are faced with a tough job of picking the team following the retirement of former skippers Anil Kumble and Sourav Ganguly after the victorious home series against Australia last month. Leg spinner Amit Mishra was expected to take the place vacated by Kumble, while the in-form Yuvraj Singh, yearning for a comeback into Test matches, is likely to get the nod in place of Ganguly.

Team England heading back to India

Tamil Nadu skipper S Badrinath, who was part of the squad for the first two Tests against Australia, would also be picked along with opener M Vijay. The latter impressed in the last Test at Nagpur with his technique. Either Yuvraj, with two centuries against England in the ODIs, or Badrinath is expected to take the number six slot held by Ganguly.

Left hander Gautam Gambhir would be back as opener after serving a one-Test ban for elbowing Shane Watson during the Third test against Australia.

Chennai Police expect Eng team to land on Monday

Except picking the replacement for Ganguly, the other seniors including Virender Sehwag, Rahul Dravid, going through a lean patch, but touched form in the Ranji trophy, Sachin Tendulkar and V V S Laxman would retain their places.

Three of the four pacers Zaheer Khan, Ishant Sharma, Munaf Patel and R P Singh would get the nod, while offie Harbhajan would have Amit Mishra for company in the spin department.

Boycott opposes 'monstrous' England return


Write Comments