Gambhir completes 1000 runs in 2008

Published: Saturday, December 20, 2008, 15:28 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Gambhir cores 1000 runs in a calendar year

Mohali: Goutam Gambhir moved past 1,000 runs in the calendar year to become the fourth Indian after Sachin Tendulkar, Venkatsai Laxman and Virender Sehwag to achieve the feat in 2008. He became fourth Indian to do so this year after Virender Sehwag (1445), VVS Laxman (1071) and Sachin Tendulkar (1047).

This is for the first time that four Indian batsmen have aggregated 1,000 runs in a calendar year. In 1979 three batsmen – Sunil Gavaskar (1555), Gundappa Viswanath (1388) and Dilip Vengsarkar (1174) – had aggregated 1,000 runs for India.

This is also for only the second time in Test cricket history that four batsmen of a side aggregated 1,000 runs in a calendar year. The only other such instance was in 2006 when Kevin Pietersen, Paul Collingwood, Andrew Strauss and Alastair Cook scored 1,000 for England

Write Comments