Tendulkar, Zaheer included in Mumbai squad

Published: Wednesday, December 31, 2008, 10:21 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Tendulkar, Zaheer to play for Mumbai

Mumbai: Master blaster Sachin Tendulkar and speedster Zaheer Khan will play for Mumbai in the semi-final match of Ranji Trophy against Saurashtra in Chennai starting from January 4 to 7.

Mumbai registered an emphatic nine-wicket victory over Himachal Pradesh at Ahmedabad in the quarter-final tie yesterday.

For the first time this season, the two Indian stars will be seen in action for the Mumbai side which would be led by another Test player, Wasim Jaffer.

Tendulkar and Zaheer have replaced Praful Waghela and Rahil Shaikh.

According to Mumbai Cricket Association's joint secretary Hemant Waingankar, the other change in the team is left arm spinner Ankit Chavan for another left-arm slow bowler Iqbal Abdulla.

Saurashtra had taken the first innings points against Mumbai when the two teams met earlier this season at Rajkot in their Group 'A' Elite Division contest.

Mumbai squad: Wasim Jaffer (c), Sachin Tendulkar, Ajinkya Rahane, Sahil Kukreja, Amol Muzumdar, Rohit Sharma, Ajit Agarkar, Vinayak Samant (wk), Sairaj Bahutule, Ramesh Powar, Zaheer Khan, Dhaval Kulkarni, Abhishek Nayar, Usman Malvi and Ankit Chava

Write Comments