Mitchell Johnson wins McGilvray Medal 2008

Published: Monday, January 5, 2009, 13:34 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Melbourne: Australia's leading paceman Mitchell Johnson has won the McGilvray Medal for the ABC's Test cricketer of the year.

Johnson claimed 63 wickets in 14 Tests in 2008 at an average of 29.01 and scored 360 runs at 22.5. The left-arm quick placed equal second on the year's leading wicket-takers, behind South Africa's Dale Steyn (74) and equal with India's Harbhajan Singh. He also established himself as Australia's leading fast bowler after sending down 585 overs, the most of any international cricketer in 2008.

The left-armer topped the votes ahead of Simon Katich and Ricky Ponting.

The award is named in honour of legendary broadcaster Alan McGilvray who covered more than 200 Tests between 1946 and 1985.


Write Comments