India wins toss and elects to field

Published: Wednesday, January 28, 2009, 9:38 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Dambulla: Indian captain Dhoni won the toss and elected to field in the first ODI at Dambulla on Wednesday. Virender Sehwag is ruled out of the match due to a glute injury picked up during training.

Rohit Sharma comes in to fill that gap. India have gone in with three fast bowlers and the left-arm spin of Pragyan Ojha.

Sri Lanka are unchanged from the side that beat Pakistan last week.

Under the charismatic MS Dhoni, India have been in terrific form in both forms of the game and the 5-0 whitewash against England in the ODI series at home gives a fair indication of the side's might. In contrast, Sri Lanka have not been as convincing.

The 3-2 win last year fresh in mind, India will seek to maintain their supremacy while revenge will be on top of Sri Lanka's mind.

India Team:

MS Dhoni(Captain), G Gambhir, SR Tendulkar, RG Sharma, Yuvraj Singh, SK Raina, YK Pathan, Z Khan, PP Ojha, I Sharma, MM Patel

Sri Lanka Team:

Jayawardene( Captain) Jayasuriya, TM Dilshan, wicketkeeper KC Sangakkara, Kapugedera, Kandamby,Maharoof, Thushara, Kulasekara, M Muralitharan, Mendis.


Write Comments