Sehwag returns, India opts to bat first

Published: Saturday, January 31, 2009, 14:05 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Sehwag returns, India choose to bat

Colombo: Indian captain Mahendra Singh won the toss and elected to bat in the second one-dayer against Sri Lanka at Colombo.

Sehwag, who missed the last match at Dambulla on Wednesday due to a back injury, has now been declared fit.

Praveen Kumar replaced injured Munaf Patel whereas Rohit Sharma has to make way for Sehwag.

India is leading 1-0 in the five match Cricket ODI series.

Sri Lanka's leading spinner Muttiah Muralitharan is just two wickets away from overtaking Wasim Akram to become the highest wicket-taker in One-dayers. The off spinner took only 1/52 in the first ODI.

Indian Team:

MS Dhoni (Captain), G Gambhir, RA Jadeja, Z Khan, P Kumar, PP Ojha, MM Patel, IK Pathan, YK Pathan, SK Raina, V Sehwag, I Sharma, RG Sharma, SR Tendulkar, Yuvraj Singh.

Sri Lanka Team:

DPMD Jayawardene (Captain), TM Dilshan, CRD Fernando, ST Jayasuriya, SHT Kandamby, CK Kapugedera, KMDN Kulasekara, MF Maharoof, AD Mathews, BAW Mendis, J Mubarak, M Muralitharan, wicketkeeperKC Sangakkara, WU Tharanga, T Thushara.


Write Comments