Toss smiles on Dhoni, India opts to bat first

Published: Tuesday, February 3, 2009, 14:03 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

India win toss, to bat first

Colombo: Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and elected to bat in the third and crucial One-dayer at Premadasa stadium at Colombo. After twp straight wins, India will seek to clinch the series by going for the kill with a strong batting line-up .

India need to win just one more match to wrap up the five-match series and Mahendra Singh Dhoni and his bravehearts will be eager to maintain their winning sequence in the floodlit encounter at Premadasa stadium.

Sachin Tendulkar, who failed to score in the first two matches will be eager to score heavily in this match.

As far as Sri Lanka are concerned, they are in a do or die situation to keep them alive in the ongoing series otherwise they would be losing back to back ODI series at the hands of India.

All attention will be once again focussed on Sri Lankan spinner Muttiah Muralidharan who is just two wickets away from the world record of leading wicket taker in ODIs.

Pacer Balaji has replaced Munaf Patel who was forced to return to India due to a groin injury.


India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Gautam Gambhir, Ravindra Jadeja, Zaheer Khan, Praveen Kumar, Pragyan Ojha, L Balaji, Irfan Pathan, Yusuf Pathan, Suresh Raina, Virender Sehwag, Ishant Sharma, Rohit Sharma, Sachin Tendulkar, Yuvraj Singh.

Sri Lanka: Mahela Jaywardene (captain), Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Sanath Jayasuriya, Upul Tharanga, Chamara Kapugedera, Jehan Mubarak, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Thilina Kandamby, Muttiah Muralitharan, Ajantha Mendis, Farveez Maharoof, Dilhara Fernando, Nuwan Kulasekera, Thilina Thushara and Angelo Mathews.


Write Comments