Tendulkar rested, India to bat first

Published: Thursday, February 5, 2009, 14:05 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Colombo: India captain Mahendra Singh has won the toss and elected to bat in the fourth ODI against Sri Lanka at Premadasa stadium in Colombo.

Zaheer Khan, Sachin Tendulkar have been rested as Rohit Sharma and Irfan Pathan replaced them in the squad for the fourth ODI. Sri Lanka made just the solitary change to their playing XI with Angelo Matthews coming into the side in place of off-spinner Ajantha Mendis

India had already sealed the five-match series by crushing Sri Lanka by a 147-run win under floodlights at the R Premadasa stadium on Tuesday.

All attention will be once again focussed on Muttiah Muralitharan who requres only one wicket to surpass former Pakistani paceman Wasim Akram's world record of 502 wickets.

If India manage to whitewash Sri Lanka 5-0, they inch a step closer to claim the no.1 ranking in the ICC ODI rankings.


Sri Lanka

Mahela Jaywardene (capt), Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Sanath Jayasuriya, Chamara Kapugedera, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Thilina Kandamby, Muttiah Muralitharan, Farveez Maharoof, Dilhara Fernando, Nuwan Kulasekera and Angelo Mathews.


Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain) Gautam Gambhir, Praveen Kumar, Pragyan Ojha, Irfan Pathan, Yusuf Pathan, Suresh Raina, Virender Sehwag, Ishant Sharma, Rohit Sharma, Yuvraj Singh.


Write Comments