Dilshan, Sangakkara power Sri Lanka to 320/8

Published: Sunday, February 8, 2009, 13:33 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Dilshan, Sangakkara lead SL to 320

Colombo: Sri Lanka posted a solid 320 for India to chase in the final ODI of the 5 match series in order to complete the whitewash. A fine 2nd wicket partnership of 143 runs between Dilshan (97) and Sangakkara (84) guided Sri Lanka to get past 300-run mark.

Earlier, veteran opener Sanath Jayasuriya (37) and T Dilshan (97 off 117 balls) gave their team a flying start by putting on 66 runs in quick time.

From a position of strength at 209 for one, the hosts slumped to 256 for sixas the Indian bowlers struck telling blows.. The collapse was triggered by Ishant, Yuvraj and a brilliant piece of fielding by Rohit Sharma.

India can rise to number one spot in the International Cricket Council's Test rankings if they can complete 5-0 whitewash against Sri Lanka.

Both the team have made a couple of changes.

Debutant Ravindra Jadeja and L Balaji come in for Praveen Kumar and Pragyan Ojha in the Indian lineup. For Sri Lanka, Ajantha Mendis and Thilan Thushara replace Angelo Mathews and Dilhara Fernando.

Dilshan, who looked set to bring up his third one-day century, fell short of his crease while attempting a cheeky single. Jayawardene took for a quick single and Rohit, who was fielding at cover, picked up the ball and threw down the stumps in a flash and it ended non-striker Dilshan"s valiant knock of 97 runs.

Soon after, Ishant got Kapugedera to edge one to Dhoni and then Yuvraj forced Jayawardene into playing a loose shot that ended his short stint in the middle. It was a well flighted delivery by Yuvraj and Jayawardene, who is a naturally gifted player through the on-side, flicked one straight down the throat of Raina at short-cover.

All-rounders Farveez Maharoof and Thilan Thushara were left with the task of taking their team"s total past the 300-run mark.

The teams:

India: M S Dhoni (Capt-WK), Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Laxmipathi Balaji, Ishant Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, Yousuf Pathan and Irfan Pathan, Rohit Sharma and Suresh Raina.

Sri Lanka: Sanath Jayasuriya, Tilekaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Mahela Jayawardene (capt), Chamara Kapugedera, Thilina Kandamby, Farvez Maharoof, Nuwan Kulasekara, Thilan Thushara, Muttiah Muralitharan, Ajantha Mendis.


Write Comments