New Zealand wins toss, elect to bowl

Published: Wednesday, February 25, 2009, 11:44 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Christchurch: New Zealand captain Daniel Vettori won the toss and opted to bowl first in chilly conditions in Christchurch.

India's Twenty20 record is encouraging, in that they have lost only two of their 11 matches played so far, losing to New Zealand in the World Cup at Johannesburg and Australia at Melbourne.

But whatever be their might, India would be foolhardy to underestimate the inexperienced New Zealand outfit, which had given a good account of itself in the just-concluded series against Australia, wherein they drew the ODI series 2-2 and lost the Twenty20 international by one run.

India: Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Yuvraj Singh, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt & wk), Yusuf Pathan, Irfan Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ishant Sharma

New Zealand: Brendon McCullum (wk), Jesse Ryder, Martin Guptill, Ross Taylor, Jacob Oram, Nathan McCullum, Daniel Vettori, Ian Butler, Tim Southee, Ewen Thompson Iain O'Brien.

Write Comments