Raina powers India to 162

Published: Wednesday, February 25, 2009, 12:54 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Christchurch: Sixes, boundaries, wickets in each overs...what more a T20 show can expect, It was all there in the India-New Zealand T20 opener in Christchurch.

Suresh Raina scored a sizzling 61 to take India to a fighting score of 162 for 8 in the first twenty20 international at Christchurch on Wednesday.

Raina held the Indian innings which fell like a houseof cards. He scored 61 from just 43 balls. The last partnership between Harbhajan and Raina proved to be quite destructive for the hosts as Bhajji"s 21 run cameo ensured that India posted a challenging total.

Jacob Oram plucked a fast disappearing ball from just inside the boundary ropes to dismiss India's hit man Yusuf Pathan.

Earlier, India skipper MS Dhoni (2) gave away his wicket cheap to the Kiwis. Daniel Vettori caught Yuvraj Singh (1) napping in front of the wickets.

Earlier, middle-order batsman Rohit Sharma edged Butler's delivery to give an easy catch at gully. While, pacer O'Brien struck twice to remove India opener Gautam Gambhir (6) and Virender Sehwag (26).

Earlier, New Zealand skipper Daniel Vettori won the toss and decided to bowl first in the Twenty20 opener against India at Christchurch on Wednesday.

For India, it is Harbhajan's comeback after his injury and that makes Ravindra Jadeja cool his heels in the dressing room.

Kylie Mills will warm the bench today while Ross Taylor and Jacob Oram are chosen in New Zealand's playing eleven.

New Zealand: Brendon McCullum (wk), Jesse Ryder, Martin Guptill, Ross Taylor, Jacob Oram, Nathan McCullum, Daniel Vettori, Ian Butler, Tim Southee, Ewen Thompson, Iain O'Brien.

India: Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Yuvraj Singh, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt and wk), Yusuf Pathan, Irfan Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Zahee

Write Comments