NZ win the toss, elect to bowl

Published: Friday, February 27, 2009, 11:09 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

NZ win the toss, elect to bowl

Wellington: New Zealand captain Daniel Vettori won the toss and elected to field. in the 2nd Twenty 20 International in Wellington. India have made one change to their side, bringing in all rounder Ravinder Jadeja in place of Rohit Sharma.

The hosts have fielded the same eleven, which beat India in the first T20 match in Christchurch.

The second leg of the New Zealand summer has got off to a fiery start and raised expectations all round effective Friday, when the two teams meet again. The Indian superstars, the world Twenty20 champions, will be under pressure to put up a performance worth that status. The New Zealand bowlers will be under pressure to give the home side a more 'precise' start, as Daniel Vettori put it.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni wasn't too displeased, though, with the XI India fielded in the first game. "With an extra seamer the batting order is not as long and as deep as you would prefer in a Twenty20 game," Dhoni said. "I was quite happy with the kind of combination that we played." It will be interesting if Dhoni goes in with one of the potent pair of Munaf Patel or Praveen Kumar.


New Zealand:
1 Brendon McCullum (wk), 2 Martin Guptill, 3 Jesse Ryder, 4 Ross Taylor, 5 Jacob Oram, 6 Neil Broom, 7 Nathan McCullum, 8 Daniel Vettori (capt), 9 Ian Butler, 10 Tim Southee, 11 Iain O'Brien.

India: 1 Gautam Gambhir, 2 Virender Sehwag, 3 Suresh Raina, 4 Ravindra Jadeja, 5 Yuvraj Singh, 6 Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt & wk), 7 Yusuf Pathan, 8 Irfan Pathan, 9 Harbhajan Singh, 10 Zaheer Khan, 11 Ishant Sharma.


Write Comments