India wins toss, elect to bat

Published: Tuesday, March 3, 2009, 8:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

India elect to bat in Napier

Napier: Indians are batting first on what looks like a better of a pitch in Napier, but unfortunately the weather gods are not playing along just yet. Sehwag is batting on 23 and his senior partner Sachin is batting on 3.

Earlier, Indian captain MS Dhoni won the toss and elected to bat first against New Zealand in the first ODI of the series at Napier. The Indian squad was bolstered by the entry of Sachin Tendulkar in the playing eleven.

Indian speed star Ishant Sharma is not playing the match due to an injury he suffered during the practice session.

he three changes for the Indian squad from the previous game were the coming in of Sachin Tendulkar, Munaf Patel and Praveen Kumar in place of Rohit Sharma, Irfan Pathan and Ishant Sharma. For New Zealand, Tim Southee was replaced by Grant Elliott.

New Zealand (Playing XI): Brendon McCullum(w), Jesse Ryder, Martin Guptill, Ross Taylor, Grant Elliott, Jacob Oram, Neil Broom, Daniel Vettori(c), Kyle Mills, Iain OBrien, Ian Butler

India (Playing XI): Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Suresh Raina, Mahendra Singh Dhoni(w/c), Yuvraj Singh, Yusuf Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Praveen Kumar, Zaheer Khan, Munaf Patel


Write Comments