New Zealand chose to bowl first against India

Published: Sunday, March 8, 2009, 8:28 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

NZ wins toss and elect to bowl

Christchurch: New Zealand's stand-in captain Brendon McCullum won the toss and chose to bowl on a pitch that had a sprinkling of grass at the AMI Stadium in Christchurch.

The good news is that it's a sunny and a warm day. The teams would hope that it remains that way.

"It's a good toss to loss. We were a bit confused to bat or bowl on this pitch but I guess we would have batted first since that's our strength," Dhoni said.

Daniel Vettori missed this game to be with his wife who is expecting their first child. Jeetan Patel, who has collected 42 wickets at 34.09, gets a game and Tim Southee, who has taken 26 ODI wickets at 31.46, has replaced Ian O'Brien. India, though, have gone with an unchanged

New Zealand: Brendon McCullum(c), Jesse Ryder, Martin Guptill, Ross Taylor, Grant Elliott, Jacob Oram, Peter McGlashan(w), Ian Butler, Tim Southee, Kyle Mills, Jeetan Patel

India: Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Yuvraj Singh, Mahendra Singh Dhoni(w/c), Suresh Raina, Yusuf Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Praveen Kumar, Zaheer Khan, Munaf Patel

Write Comments