Heat on Tendulkar after dubious catch

Published: Saturday, March 21, 2009, 8:28 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Sachin's catch courts controversy

Hamilton : New Zealand cricket team coach Andy Moles on Friday expressed doubts over whether Sachin Tendulkar had taken a slip catch of opener Tim McIntosh's bat cleanly.

McIntosh was controversially dismissed for a duck as New Zealand began to chase down India"s lead of 241 runs. At the close of play on the third day, the Kiwis were precariously placed at 75 for the loss of three wickets.

Tendulkar"s role in McIntosh''s demise -- three balls into New Zealand''s quest to erase a 241-run deficit -- threatened to take some sheen off another high point of his 157-test career.

Replays confirmed there was doubt Tendulkar had legitimately caught the edge at first slip.

He was confident, as was English umpire Ian Gould who raised the finger.

Unlike a similar incident during India''s innings, Gould and Australian umpire Simon Taufel did not consult the third umpire.

New Zealand coach Andy Moles thought the Tendulkar catch should have been referred.

"You all saw the TV shots, it''s fair to say we''re surprised it wasn''t referred," Moles said.

Tendulkar, who left the field to ice a bruised left index finger, disagreed.


Write Comments