Dhoni returns as New Zealand elect to bowl

Published: Friday, April 3, 2009, 4:37 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Dhoni returns as NZ bowl

Wellington: New Zealand captain Daniel Vettori has won the toss and elected to bowl first in the third Test against India at Basin Reserve in Wellington on Friday.

There is a good news for Indian cricket fans is that their captain Mahenda Singh Dhoni is back in the side after he missed the second Test due to an injury.

India is on the verge of creating a history in New Zealand. Team India just need a draw to secure its first series win in New Zealand in 41 years.

After beating New Zealand by 10 wickets in the first test at Hamilton and drawing the high-scoring second test at Napier, India can clinch the three-test series with a win or draw at the Basin Reserve.

New Zealand made two changes to the XI that drew the Napier Test. Jamie How and Jeetan Patel made way for southpaw Daniel Flynn and 20-year old quickie Tim Southee. For India, Dinesh Karthik makes way for regular captain and keeper Dhoni.

The often windy conditions in Wellington may give the bowlers some assistance, and the cool autumn conditions in the New Zealand capital may favour the home team, who have won their last four Tests against India at the Basin Reserve.

New Zealand
: Tim McIntosh, Martin Guptill, Daniel Flynn, Ross Taylor, Jesse Ryder, James Franklin, Brendon McCullum (W), Daniel Vettori (C), Iain OBrien, Chris Martin, Tim Southee.

India: Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, VVS Laxman, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni (C)(W), Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ishant Sharma, Munaf Patel.

: Daryl Harper (AUS), Simon Taufel (AUS) and Tony Hill (NZ) (T.V.)

Referee: Alan Hurst (AUS)


Write Comments