Dhoni retained captain for T20 World Cup

Published: Monday, May 4, 2009, 11:59 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Dhoni to lead India in T20 World Cup

Mumbai: M S Dhoni will lead a 15-member Indian squad in the ICC Twenty20 World Cup which is scheduled to be held in England next month.

Virender Sehwag is named the vice captain of the team.

Pragyan Ojha and  Ravindra Jadeja are the two new faces chosen for the 15-man Indian squad.

However, despite his astounding performance in the IPL so far, Mumbai Indians' Abhishek Nayar could not make it to the final list.

Ajit Agarkar, Sreesanth, Dinesh Karthik and Robin Uthappa, who were in the India's first T20 World Cup squad, have been left out despite being in the 30 probables.

The squad consists of Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Yusuf Pathan, Rohit Sharma, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ishant Sharma, Praveen Kumar, Rudra Pratap Singh, Ravindra Jadeja, Pragyan Ojha and Irfan Pathan.

India are in Group A with Bangladesh and Ireland. The tournament starts June 5 and the final is slated for June 21 at Lord"s.


Write Comments