Cricket in 2010 Asian Games

Published: Wednesday, May 13, 2009, 15:38 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Cricket now in Asian Games

Dubai: Olympic Council of Asia today officially declared cricket as an Asian games sports, with India and Pakistan pledging to send their best available teams.

India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh and the host nation China will participate in the tournament which is played in Twenty20 format. There would be separate tournament for men women teams.

"India and Pakistan were the drivers. Pakistan and India will come with their best teams because it will be a big competition," said OCA president Sheikh Ahmad Al-Sabah after the organisation's general assembly.

"Asia's four Test-playing nations have committed to sending their best available teams," he added.

The 2010 Asian Games will take place from November 12-27 in the southern Chinese city of Guanzhou.


Write Comments