Deccan Chargers crowned IPL 2 champions

Published: Sunday, May 24, 2009, 23:49 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Deccan Chargers wear IPL 2 crown

Johannesburg: Deccan Chargers held their nerve in a pressure cooker like situation to seal the IPL 2009 title in the final over before a jam packed New Wanderers stadium at Johannesburg on Sunday.

Defending a modest total of 143, Gilchrist lead Hyderabad team restricted Bangalore Team to 137/9 in their allotted twenty overs to seal six runs victory over Bangalore Royal Challengers.

Bangalore needed 15 runs off the last over with a single wicket it in hand. The crucial over was bowled by RP Singh.

Anil Kumble took a single on the first run, Robin Uthappa wasted two deliveries, then took 2 runs off the fourth ball. The fifth delivery went for 4 leg byes and the last delivery went for a single as Deccan were crowned the IPL 2009 winners.

Deccan Chargers, who was the worst team in the first season of IPL, outplayed their opposition Royal Challengers Bangalore in all aspects to lift the Trophy that was won by Rajasthan Royals in the first edition.

Bangalore got off to a poor start as RP Singh dismissed Jacques Kallis in the 4th over. Kallis hit 3 fours in his 17-ball 16.


Then it was the turn of Pragyan Ojha. He dismissed danger men Manish Pandey and Roelof van der Merwe in quick succession. He later dismissed Praveen Kumar in his last over to take his match tally to 3 wickets.

Roelof van der Merwe hit 3 sixes and a four in his 21-ball 32 before Ojha had him stumped by Gilchrist in his second over. Rahul Dravid who was expected to play anchoring role disappointed Bangalore champs as he was clean bowled by lesser known Harmeet Singh in the 12th over.

Bangalore needed 65 from 50 balls at that stage, with Taylor and Virat Kohli looking in control after a 20 run stand. But Symonds turned the game in Deccan's favour by dismissing this pair in successive balls at the start of the 15th over.

Harmeet Singh came again and dismissed Mark Boucher which almost shattered Challengers' IPL dreams. With just one wicket in hand the task was too big for Bangalore.

Earlier a devastating spell by skipper Anil Kumble (4/16) restricted Hyderabad Deccan Chargers to 143/6 in twenty overs in the finals of IPL at Johannesburg on Sunday.

IPL 2009 - Results | IPL 2009 Points Table | Orange - Purple Cap

Send into bat first Deccan Chargers were off to the shaking start start in their campaign to lift the IPL Trophy as they lost two quick wickets in the form of Adam Gilchrist and Tirumalsetti Suman inside four overs.

Skipper Kumble who surprisingly came to bowl first gave a dream start to Challengers as he dismissed the inform Adam Gilchrist in the first over.

Later, Vinay Kumar struck in his very first over to dismiss Suman, who was living dangerously, for just 10 runs.

Gibbs who scored a half century 53 (48), carried his bat through the innings to gave respectable total to Deccan Chargers.

Deccan Chargers road to IPL Championship


Write Comments