IPL will be 10-team league in 2011

Published: Monday, May 25, 2009, 9:01 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

IPL to have 10 teams from 2011

Johannesburg: Lalit Modi, who was inspired by the grant success of second edition of the Indian Premier League, said that eight-team tournament will be expanded to 10 team in 2011.

Modi hinted that third edition of IPL will be held in India despite the tight schedule of the ICC and BCCI in 2010.

“We have been missing India but we have made a strong fan base in South Africa. We have a tight schedule next year. We will have two more teams in the league," said Modi.

Modi, who is also the vice president of the BCCI, said that organising the IPL in South Africa was a great experience.

“We had a great time in South Africa. Everything was perfect. I am satisfied with the way the tournament was successfully conducted here at such a short time," he said.


Write Comments