India hot favourites to win T20 World Cup

Published: Friday, June 5, 2009, 10:51 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

India favourites to win world cup

London: An explosive batting line up, a lethal bowling attack, a balanced team and a cool captain makes India favorites for ICC world twenty-20 Championship.

Just go through the Indian batting order. The 'hit man' Virender Sehwag and Gautam Gambhir will be followed by Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma and MS Dhoni after which Yuvraj Singh and Yusuf Pathan can send opposition over the edge.

Indian bowling attack which consists of Zaheer Khan, Ishant Sharma, Harbhajan Singh, RP Singh, Irfan Pathan, Pragyan Ojha and Praveen Kumar can tear apart any batting order in the world cricket. Perhaps, this team is far better than the Indian team that won the inaugural T20 Cup in South Africa.

Every one in this team is a match winner and all the players were in good form during the recently concluded IPL at South Africa.

Apart from being the defending champions, all Indian players have had played 15  to 16 T20 matches, unlike a lot of international players who wouldn't have had a lot of match practice.

Indian squad will also benefit from the T-20 experience in IPL. Some of these players was lucky to play with cricket legends the like of Shane Warne and Adam Gilchrist,

Moreover India has a captain who always maintains cool head in any tense situations. He often comes in at No 3 if India lose an early wicket and will just rotate the strike before unleashing at the end. His flexibility in changing conditions is second to none.

T20 World Cup-Fixture | Results | Points

Despite having a star studded line-up there are some concerns. Openers Virender Sehwag and Gautam Gambhir never got going during the Indian Premier League. Zaheer Khan's injury and Yuvraj Sing's inconsistency also adds to Indian concerns

India's Group in World Cup

Indians are placed with Bangladesh and minnows Ireland in Group A


India vs Bangladesh at Trent Bridge, Saturday June 6 @ 10.30 PM ISD, 17:00 GMT

India vs Ireland at Trent Bridge, Wednesday June 10 @ 10.00 PM ISD 16:30 GMT


Write Comments