India restrict England to 153/7

Published: Sunday, June 14, 2009, 23:39 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

London: Harbhajan Singh took three wickets and Jadeja took two wickets to restrict England to 153/7 in their allotted twenty overs at Lords on Sunday.

Kevin Pietersen who scored a a quick 46 off 27 balls was the top scorer for hosts on Sunday.

Put in to bat, England were off to a shaky start as they lost Wright in the second over.

Dhoni's decision to include RP Singh vindicated as he dismissed England opening batsmen Wright in his first over, Yusuf Pathan took a marvellous catch to complement a great bowling of RP.

Former England captain Pietersen joined Bopara and steadied the England innings. Both these batsmen put on 71 runs for the second wicket as England reached 74 for loss in the 11nth over,

It was Ravindra Jadeja who broke this partnership as he bowled Ravindra Bopara in his first over. Bopara hit 37 of 37 balls which consisted of 3 boundaries and a sixer.

Jadeja again struck in his second over when he trapped the 'dangerman' Pietersen in front of the wicket. It was a huge wicket for Jadeja who was hit for a six by Pietersen in the same over, , took instant revenge by dismissing him in the next ball.. England were 92/3 in this stage.

Pietersen who was in good knick scored a quick 46 off 27 balls. Former England captain hit five boundaries and a sixer in his knock of 46.

England reached their 100 in the fifteenth over.

Owasis Shah 12 (10) was the next England batsman to be dismissed as he was caught brilliantly in the deep mid wicket by Jadeja in the bowling of Harbhajan Singh.

Zaheer Khan came back in his second spell and dismissed England captain Collingwood (7) in the 19nth over.

Mascarenhas who was promoted up the order contributed a useful 25 of 27 balls.

Jadeja gave 26 runs and took two crucial in his four over spell.

Harbhajan Singh who bowled the final over dismissed Foster and Swann in quick succession to restrict England to 153 for the loss of 7 wickets in their allotted 20 overs.

Earlier Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and elected to bowl against England in the super eight match at London on Sunday.

India made two changes in the team. They have left out Irfan Pathan and Pragyan Ohja to include RP Singh and Ravindra jadeja.

England had made just one change, they have brought in Ryan Sidebottan and left out Adil Rashid.


India (Playing XI): Gautam Gambhir, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Mahendra Singh Dhoni(w/c), Yusuf Pathan, Ravindra Jadeja, Harbhajan Singh, Rudra Pratap Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ishant Sharma

England (Playing XI): Ravinder Bopara, Luke Wright, Kevin Pietersen, Owais Shah, Paul Collingwood(c), Dimitri Mascarenhas, James Foster(w), Graeme Swann,Stuart Broad, Ryan Sidebottom, James Anderson


Write Comments