Sachin, Zaheer rested; Nehra back in squad for WI

Published: Wednesday, June 17, 2009, 16:56 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Sachin, Zaheer rested for Windies tour

Mumbai: BCCI has announced 16-member squad for the upcoming ODI series against the West Indies, which is scheduled to begin on June 26.

Batting maestro Tendulkar and pace star Zaheer Khan have been rested while pacer Ashish Nehra make come back into the team after a gap of five years.

Selectors dropped Irfan Pathan from the squad and Suresh Raina was not considerd because of the thump injury.

All rounder Abhishek Nayar was the lone new face in the squad which will be captain by Mahendra Singh Dhoni and will have Yuvraj Singh as his deputy.

Virender Sehwag, who missed the Twenty20 World Cup because of a shoulder injury, was not considered for selection.

Team: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Capt), Yuvraj Singh (vice-captain), Gautam Gambhir, Rohit Sharma, Harbhajan Singh, Pragyan Ojha, Yusuf Pathan, Murali Vijay, S Badrinath, RP Singh, Praveen Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Abhishek Nayar, Ashish Nehra, Ravindra Jadeja, Dinesh Kartik.


Write Comments