Sangakkara takes Sri Lanka to 138/6

Published: Sunday, June 21, 2009, 21:04 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

London: A marvelous fight back headed by Sri Lankan captain Kumara Sangakkara steered his team to 138/6 in the finals of T20 world cup at Lords on Sunday.

Sangakkara scored  a captains knock of 64 from 52 balls to take his team from a disastrous position to a respectable total for Sri Lankans in the finals.

Lankans were 70/6 at one stage, but Sangakkaras partnership with with Mathews changed things for Sri Lanka. The last over produced 17 runs. Matthews who scored 35 from 24 balls hit 3 boundaries and a sixer.

Winning the toss and electing to bat first, Sri Lanka were off to a worst possible batsman as they lost their inform batsman Tilkaratne Dilshan for a duck. Dilshan failed to scoop one out and handed a simple catch at short fine leg.

Pakistan struck again when Razazaq dismissed Mubaraq for a duck in the second over of the match. he was dismissed for a duck after a leading edge loops up high into the air leaving Shahzaib to take another easy catch.

Lanka suffered yet another set back when veteran Jayauriya was bowled by Razzaq in the for 17. Razzaq who was for six and boundary by Jayasuriya in a over took his as he bowled Jayauriya in the over.

Things became worse for Sri Lanka as Razzaq finds the edge of Jayawardene (1), who was looking to flick the ball down to third man but instead guides the ball straight into the safe hands of Misbah-ul-Haq at slip.

Sangakkara and Charmara Silva tried to steady the Lanka with a 37 partnership, but Pakistan star bowler Umar Gul broke this partnership by sending back Silva for 14 runs.

Afridi joined the party when he he bowled a wonderful delivery out of the hat to beat Udana. The bowl shattered the stumps of Udana who added only one run to the Lankan score.

Abdur Razzaq who had a dream return to international cricket after his ICL stint, was the destroyer in chief as he got rid of Sanath Jayasuriya (17), Jehan Mubarak (0) and Chamara Silva (14) to leave Lanka reeling at 4/32.


Write Comments