England women crowned World T20 champions

Published: Monday, June 22, 2009, 8:57 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

London: England eves won the first World Twenty20 cricket cup by thrashing New Zealand by six wickets in the final at the Lord's here on Sunday.

After winning the toss, England were set a target of just 86 runs after they had packed up the New Zealand batting in 20 overs.

Claire Taylor, England's star player, hit an unbeaten 39 while opener Sarah Taylor made 23 to take England home in the 17th over. Sarah was also adjudged as the Player of the Series.

With the win, England women are champions in 20-over and 50-over formats and also hold the Ashes.

England's pace star Katherine Brunt wrecked the Kiwis top order with a new-ball spell of 4-2-6-3. New Zealand never recovered from the poor start. They lost opener Suzie Bates to a neat stumping by Taylor and then their main batting hope Amy Watkins was bowled by a great inswinger from Katherine Brunt.

England's great start with the bowlers vindicated skipper Edwards' decision to opt for fielding against New Zealand, the same opposition whom they defeated to secure the one-day World Cup earlier this year.

Amy Satterthwaite started to repair the innings with her 19 off 42 balls but soon lost her patience. Sophie Devine (10) and Kate Pullford (14) made a gritty effort lower down the order but it wasn't enough.


Write Comments