No Indian player in ICC World T20 team

Published: Tuesday, June 23, 2009, 10:20 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

No Indian named in ICC World T20 team

Dubai: No Indian player could make into the the ICC World T20 squad of the tournament released by the cricket's apex body.

The team consists of four Pakistan players and three each from South Africa and Sri Lanka and two from the West Indies.

The selectors chose Pakistan"s Younis Khan as captain of the men"s side while Charlotte Edwards of England was named to lead the women"s line-up.

T20 World Cup-Fixture | Results | Points | Top 10 Players(R/W)

The teams were chosen by a select group of experts who were given the task of picking a balanced side for all conditions on the basis of performances in the tournament. Statistics were used but were not the sole basis for selections.

The men"s team, including 12th man, contained four players from Pakistan, three each from South Africa and Sri Lanka and two from the West Indies.

PCB should coach BCCI men

Both teams include the respective players of the tournament, Tillakarante Dilshan of Sri Lanka and England"s Claire Taylor.

Team: Chris Gayle (West Indies), Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka), Jacques Kallis (South Africa), AB de Villiers (South Africa), Younus Khan (Pakistan, captain, Dwayne Bravo (West Indies), Shahid Afridi (Pakistan), Kamran Akmal (Pakistan, wicketkeeper), Wayne Parnell (South Africa), Umar Gul (Pakistan), Ajantha Mendis (Sri Lanka), 12th man: Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka)


Write Comments