Can India survive Windies test?

Published: Thursday, June 25, 2009, 11:26 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Can India survive Windies test?

Kingston: After their dismal performance in the T20 world cup Indians will strive hard to bounce back when they take on West Indies in the first One-day International of the four match series.

Due to the heavy doze of T20 cricket, some of the key players in Indian side are injured or opted out from the tournament.

Indians who were touted as the favourites in the world cup, finished empty-handed, much to the chagrin of their legions of supporters at home and around the world.

They were humiliated, when they exited the competition following three defeats in the Super Eight stage, including a seven-wicket loss to the West Indies.

Dhoni warns players over injuries

West Indies coach John Dyson will instruct his side to play aggressive cricket to push the Indians to the limit.

"We will play aggressive cricket, we will play to win as always, and we will aim for consistency," said Dyson.

"We always look at the opposition and try and determine who the key players are for the opposition and think of ways that we may combat those key players.

"What we don't know, of course, is from the lower-profile players, how they are going to perform and perform consistently throughout a series. So that's something we have to monitor as the series progresses.

"(Winning) - it depends on the sort of pitches we're playing on, the conditions of the day, and the form of our own players, and the opposition players."


West Indies
: Chris Gayle (capt), Denesh Ramdin, Lionel Baker, Darren Bravo, Dwayne Bravo, Sulieman Benn, David Bernard Jr, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Narsingh Deonarine, Runako Morton, Ravi Rampaul, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Jerome Taylor

India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt), Yuvraj Singh, Gautam Gambhir, Rohit Sharma, Harbhajan Singh, Pragyan Ojha, Yusuf Pathan, Murali Vijay, Subramaniam Badrinath, Rudra Pratap Singh, Praveen Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Abhishek Nayar, Ashish Nehra, Ravindra Jadeja, Dinesh Karthik.

thatscricket with inputs from Agencies

Write Comments