ICC announces World Twenty20 venues

Published: Sunday, July 5, 2009, 13:15 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Dubai: Pakistan will begin the defence of its ICC World Twenty20 title in the Caribbean next year against Bangladesh in St Lucia on May1.

And the side that defeated Sri Lanka by eight wickets to lift the trophy at Lord"s last month will complete its opening group commitments at the same venue the following day against Australia.

The West Indies will begin the event in Guyana on 30 April against one of two qualifiers for the tournament, part of a double-header that will also feature Sri Lanka and New Zealand.

If the West Indies, also in a group with England, reaches the Super Eights, it will then go on to play in St Lucia and Barbados, something that would see the hosts play in all three locations for the men"s tournament.

India, the 2007 champions, will start its campaign to regain the crown with an encounter with the other qualifier in St Lucia on 1 May.

England"s women, who beat New Zealand to lift the inaugural ICC Women"s World Twenty20 title, start their push for back-to-back trophies against old rivals Australia in St Kitts on May 5, the first day of matches in the women"s tournament.

Action will take place at four venues – Barbados, Guyana, St Kitts and St Lucia, with the former"s Kensington Oval hosting finals day on May 16.

Write Comments