Forget IPL....here comes KPL

Published: Friday, July 24, 2009, 14:58 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

And now, the Karnataka Premier League

Bangalore: The inaugural edition of eight-team T20 cricket tournament, on the lines of Indian Premier League (IPL) will be  at staged at at Bangalore's prestigious Chinnaswamy stadium from September 12 to 27.

Eight zonal teams from different parts of Karanataka will take part in the tournament.

KPL 2009 Schedule

The KSCA will organise the tournament in association with the Frontiers Group India Pvt. Ltd., (FGI), a sports management firm.

KSCA secretary Brijesh Patel termed the tournament an “opportunity for Karnataka"s talented cricketers to gain exposure and gain experience ahead of the domestic season".

The KSCA and the FGI have split Karnataka into ten zones — Bangalore, Mysore, Mangalore, Dharwad, Raichur, Tumkur, Shimoga, Bellary, Gulbarga and Belgaum — and on August 3 franchises will bid for the teams. The eight zones that get the highest bids will be awarded to the franchises.

The minimum bid for owning teams has been placed at Rs. 20 .

The player 'auction' would be held on August 8.


Write Comments