RCB await Cape Cobras in Champions League opener

Published: Thursday, July 30, 2009, 15:44 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

RCB await Cape Cobras in CL T20 opener

New Delhi: Bangalore Royal Challengers will clash with Cape Cobras in the opening match of the Twenty20 Champions League tournament that commences in Bangalore on October 8.

The schedule for the new $6 million international T20 tournament involving 12 top provincial teams from seven nations was released by the organisers on Thursday.

Deccan Chargers, Delhi Daredevils and Bangalore Royal Challengers are the teams representing India in the tournament.

Victoria and New South Wales are the teams from Australia, with Cape Cobras and Diamond Eagles from South Africa, Trinidad and Tobago from West Indies, Otago from New Zealand and Wayamba from Sri Lanka.

The teams from England will be decided only after domestic Twenty20 championship ends in August.

The tournament is scheduled to held between October 8 to 23 at three venues: New Delhi, Hyderabad and Bangalore. There will be a total of matches in the tournament. The teams are divided in to four different groups of teams each. Two teams from each will move in the to the eight-team round-robin league.

Group A: Deccan Chargers (India), Trinidad and Tobago (West Indies) and England No. 2 (to be decided).

Group B:
New South Wales Blues (Australia), Diamond Eagles (South Africa) and England No. 1 (to be decided).

Group C
: Royal Challengers Bangalore (India), Cape Cobras (South Africa) and Otago Volts (New Zealand).

Group D:
Delhi Daredevils (India), Victoria Bushrangers (Australia) and Wayamba (Sri Lanka).


Write Comments