Congress set to rule KPL teams

Published: Friday, August 7, 2009, 14:27 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Congress set to rule KPL teams

Bangalore: Bharatiya Janatha Party (BJP) may be the ruling party in Karnataka, but Congress emerged victorious in the 'bidding war' of the Karnataka Premier Leaue (KPL).

Five teams out of eight in KPL is owned by strong political netas from the state of Karnataka. Out of these five teams, four belongs to Congress, while Gulbarga was bagged by Nadish Reddy,a BJP MLA from KR Pura.

Davanagere Congress MLA Shamanur Shivshakarappa won the Hubli Team, while former Congress MLA K Jayaprakash Hedge bagged the rights for the Shimoga Team.

The rights for the Mangalore team was bagged by Congress leader Moinudin Bava, while prestigious Mysore team was won by another Congress leader K Kupendra Reddy. Infact, Kupendra Reddy won the bid against his own party-man cine-star MH Ambareesh.

Bangalore Rural, Bangalore Urban and Belgaum teams are owned by business tycoons in the state.


Write Comments