Key facts, figures for the fifth Ashes Test

Published: Wednesday, August 19, 2009, 16:20 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Key facts for the fifth Ashes Test

London: England need to win the fifth and and final Test at Oval starting on Thursday to reclaim the Ashes. The series is all square at 1-1. Australia just need a draw to retain the Ashes.


The Oval, traditional venue for the last Test of the English summer, should again provide an excellent batting pitch offering consistent bounce and assistance for the quicker bowlers at the start and the possibility of spin at the end. England have won five of the last 10 Tests there, losing twice and drawing three times.


So far England and Australia  have played 64 Ashes series. Australia have won 31, England 28 and five have been drawn.

Key Players

England: The Oval Test would be Flintoff's last match before he retires from Test cricket. The all-rounder is hoping for another heroic Ashes display before quitting from the world of Test cricket.

Flintoff took five wickets in the second innings at Lords to inspire England to their first Ashes victory at the home of cricket since 1934. He missed the fourth-Test due to an injury.

Australia: Mitchell Johnson, spearhead of the pace attack, could find neither rhythm, pace or accuracy in the first two Tests. His form improved in the third Test at Edgbaston and he took five for 69 in Englands second innings in the fourth Test at Headingley where Australia completed a crushing innings and 80 runs victory.

Favourable conditions at the Oval would provide the left-armer with the perfect opportunity to sign off in style on his first Ashes tour.

Weather Forecast

Generally fine and warm with showers predicted on Thursday.

Teams (from):

England: Andrew Strauss (captain), Alastair Cook, Ian Bell, Jonathan Trott, Paul Collingwood, Matt Prior, Andrew Flintoff, Stuart Broad, Graeme Swann, Stephen Harmison, Ryan Sidebottom, James Anderson, Graham Onions, Monty Panesar.

Australia: Shane Watson, Simon Katich, Ricky Ponting (captain), Michael Hussey, Michael Clarke, Marcus North, Brad Haddin, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, Nathan Hauritz, Peter Siddle, Stuart Clark, Ben Hilfenhaus.

Umpires: Billy Bowden (New Zealand) and Asad Rauf (Pakistan)

Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (Sri Lanka)


Write Comments