Sri Lanka wins toss, elect to bat

Published: Tuesday, September 8, 2009, 13:57 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

9.45 PM

Sri Lanka beat New Zealand by 97 runs‎

Lasit Malinga produced an excellent spell of fast bowling to pick up four wickets and take Sri Lanka to victory.

Sri Lanka wins toss, elect to bat

Colombo: Sri Lankan captain Kumara Sangakkara won the toss and elected to bat against New Zealand in the inaugural match of the Compaq Cup at Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

Scorecard: SL Vs NZ: 1st ODI

For Sri Lanka Samaraweera is back in and he will be playing at 5, while Kandamby replaces Kapugedera.

In the Kiwis side Tuffey edges out Mills and Elliot will play as the all-rounder.

Sri Lanka has also dominated New Zealand when playing in its territory, having won 10 out of 16 matches with one no-result. Overall, New Zealand narrowly leads Sri Lanka 34-30.

Daniel Vettori's side can narrow the gap with the third-placed side if it finishes unbeaten in the series as in this case it will rise to 119 ratings points. Kumar Sangakkara's side will also gain six ratings points if it makes a clean sweep in front of its own supporters.


Sri Lanka (Playing XI): Tillakaratne Dilshan, Sanath Jayasuriya, Kumar Sangakkara(w/c), Mahela Jayawardene, Thilan Samaraweera, Thilina Kandamby, Angelo Mathews, Nuwan Kulasekara, Thilan Thushara, Lasith Malinga, Ajantha Mendis

New Zealand (Playing XI): Brendon McCullum(w), Jesse Ryder, Martin Guptill, Ross Taylor, Grant Elliott, Jacob Oram, Daniel Vettori(c), Nathan McCullum, Ian Butler, Shane Bond, Daryl Tuffey


Write Comments